California State University, Northridge WordmarkOviatt Library WordmarkOviatt Library Catalog Wordmark
Author Updike, John.
Uniform Title Short stories. Selections
Title Collected later stories / John Updike ; Christopher Carduff, editor.
Published New York : Library Of America, c2013.
Book Cover

 Floor4  PS3571.P4 A6 2013b    IN LIBRARY
Description ix, 994 p. ; 21 cm.
Series Library of America ; 243
Library of America ; 243.
Note "Of the eighty-four stories gathered here, fifty-three first appeared in The New Yorker. Most were revised by the author for his collections Problems (1979), Trust Me (1987), The Afterlife (1994), Licks of Love (2000), and My Father's Tears (2009). All were written from 1976 to 2008, when Updike was in his mid-forties to mid-seventies, and are arranged here, for the first time, in the order in which they were completed. Each is offered in its latest, definitive text, and some incorporate posthumous corrections found in Updike's personal copies of his books"--From publisher description.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents Domestic life in America -- From the journal of a leper -- The fairy godfathers -- The egg race -- The parade -- The faint -- Guilt-gems -- Atlantises -- Morocco -- Trust me -- More stately mansions -- Still of some use -- The lovely troubled daughters of our old crowd -- Venezuela for visitors -- Pygmalion -- The city -- Learn a trade -- The ideal village -- Deaths of distant friends -- First wives and trolley cars -- The other -- One more interview -- Slippage -- Poker night -- Made in heaven -- Getting into the set -- The wallet -- The other woman -- Beautiful husbands -- Leaf season -- The afterlife -- Wildlife -- The burglar alarm -- Conjunction -- Brother grasshopper -- Spat -- The journey to the dead -- The football factory -- Part of the process -- The lens factory -- The man who became a soprano -- Short Easter -- A sandstone farmhouse -- The other side of the street -- Aperto, chiuso -- Tristan and Iseult -- Farrell's caddie -- The rumor -- Falling asleep up north -- The brown chest -- His mother inside him -- Bluebeard in Ireland -- Baby's first step -- Playing with dynamite -- Scenes from the fifties -- The black room -- Cruise -- The women who got away -- Lunch hour -- New York girl -- The cats -- My father on the verge of disgrace -- Licks of love in the heart of the Cold War -- Oliver's evolution -- Natural color -- How was it, really? -- Metamorphosis -- Personal archaeology -- Free -- The guardians -- The walk with Elizanne -- The laughter of the gods -- Varieties of religious experience -- Spanish prelude to a second marriage -- Delicate wives -- The accelerating expansion of the universe -- German lessons -- The road home -- My father's tears -- Kinderszenen -- The apparition -- Blue light -- Outage -- The full glass.
Subject Short stories, American.
United States -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- Fiction.
Genre Short stories.
Related Names Carduff, Christopher.
Alternate Title John Updike : collected later stories
ISBN 9781598532524 (hc.)
1598532529 (hc.)
OCLC number 830367642