California State University, Northridge WordmarkOviatt Library WordmarkOviatt Library Catalog Wordmark
Author Griffin, Alice, 1924-
Title Understanding Tennessee Williams / by Alice Griffin.
Published Columbia, South Carolina : University of South Carolina Press, 2011.
Book Cover

 Floor4  PS3545.I5365 Z664 2011    IN LIBRARY
Edition Pbk. ed.
Description xv, 266 p. ; 21 cm.
Series Understanding contemporary American literature
Understanding contemporary American literature.
Note Originally published: 1995.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (p. [242]-252) and index
Contents Understanding Tennessee Williams -- The glass menagerie -- A streetcar named Desire -- Summer and smoke -- The rose tattoo -- Camino Real -- Cat on a hot tin roof -- Orpheus descending -- Sweet bird of youth -- The night of the iguana.
Summary Alice Griffin offers an in-depth evaluation of the nine plays that established Tennessee Williams as America's greatest lyric dramatist. Describing him as the first playwright writing in English to combine full-blooded characters, theatricalism, and poetic dialogue, Griffin considers Williams both as a literary figure and as a stage innovator. --from publisher description
Subject Williams, Tennessee, 1911-1983 -- Criticism and interpretation.
ISBN 9781611170061
OCLC number 704895922