California State University, Northridge WordmarkOviatt Library WordmarkOviatt Library Catalog Wordmark
Author Tan, Dun, 1957- Composer. Musical director.
Uniform Title Marco Polo
Title Marco Polo [electronic resource] : opera within an opera / opera composer, Tan Dun ; libretto, Paul Griffiths ; musical director, Tan Dun ; film director, Misjel Vermeiren ; film producer, Coby Van Dijck ; a co-production of De Nederlandse Opera and the NPS.
Published Waldron, England : Opus Arte, [2009]
Book Cover

Description 1 streaming video (ca.156 min.)
Series Opera in video
Note Booklet with program notes in English, French and German (25 p.).
Special features: illustrated synopsis, cast gallery, The music of tomorrow: a documentary.
Summary In 'Marco Polo, an opera within an opera', composer Tan Dun portrays the Venetian explorer's travels to the Far East as a journey of both inner and physical discovery, a voyage depicting spiritual experiences as well as a geographical expedition. At the same time the work, on a libretto by Paul Griffiths, can be seen as a compositional adventure of the composer himself, unifying the various cultural worlds he occupies: a blend of Western avant garde and Oriental traditions.
Reproduction Electronic reproduction. Alexandria, VA : Alexander Street Press, 2009. (Opera in video). Available via World Wide Web.
Language Sung in English ; with optional subtitles in English, French, German, Spanish, Italian and Dutch.
Subject Polo, Marco, 1254-1323? -- Drama.
Genre Internet videos.
Related Names Audi, Pierre.
Bryant, Stephen, 1949- Performer.
Castle, Sarah (Mezzo-soprano) Performer.
Dijck, Coby van. Producer.
Griffiths, Paul, 1947 November 24- Librettist.
Jun, Zhang. Performer.
Kross, Tania. Performer.
Linning, Nanine. Choreographer.
Lundy, Nancy Allen. Performer.
Na, Mu. Performer.
Richardson, Stephen (Bass) Performer.
Vermeiren, Misjel. Director.
Workman, Charles. Performer.
Cappella Amsterdam. Performer.
Nederlands Kamerorkest. Performer.
Nederlandse Opera. Performer.
Nederlandse Programma Stichting.
Opus Arte (Firm)
Related Titles Music of tomorrow.
Collection Title Alexander Street Press.
Standard # 809478010104
Publisher # OA 1010 D Opus Arte