California State University, Northridge WordmarkOviatt Library WordmarkOviatt Library Catalog Wordmark
Corporate Author Library of the Institute for the Study of Women in Music.
Title Library of the Institute for the Study of Women in Music collection, 1985-9999.

 Stored Special Collections & Archives  SWM  msbox A1    IN LIBRARY
 Stored Special Collections & Archives  SWM  msbox B1    IN LIBRARY
 Stored Special Collections & Archives  SWM  msbox B2    IN LIBRARY
 Stored Special Collections & Archives  SWM  msbox C1    IN LIBRARY
 Stored Special Collections & Archives  SWM  msbox D1    IN LIBRARY
 Stored Special Collections & Archives  SWM  msbox E1    IN LIBRARY
 Stored Special Collections & Archives  SWM  msbox F1    IN LIBRARY
 Stored Special Collections & Archives  SWM  msbox G1    IN LIBRARY
 Stored Special Collections & Archives  SWM  msbox H1    IN LIBRARY
 Stored Special Collections & Archives  SWM  msbox J1    IN LIBRARY

Description 29.69 linear ft.
Note The box numbering system is arranged to follow the alphabetical arrangement. The letter indicates the filing name and the number indicates the number of the box within that letter. Thus Box P2 is the second box of those composers with a last name beginning with the letter P. Oversize boxes contain large format scores and other large documents.
Access The collection is open for research use.
Summary The collection is devoted to the musical works of women composers both published and unpublished. While predominately printed and manuscript music scores, it also contains some biographical information and correspondence. The core collection remains the Library of the ICWM and it continues to grow with subsequent donations. Over 300 composers are represented in the collection. The Library includes the collection of books and recordings gathered by Aaron I. Cohen, editor of the International Encyclopedia of Women Composers and the Library of the International Congress on Women in Music (ICWM).
Note The Library of the Institute for the Study of Women in Music was established in the Music Department of California State University, Northridge under the direction of Jeannie Poole, Head of the Music Library and Professor Beverly Grigsby in 1985 to collect the music of women composers.When the Institute closed in the 1990s, the Library was transferred to the Oviatt Library's Special Collections and Archives.
Library of the Institute for the Study of Women in Music; Donation; 1990s.
Subject Music by women composers.
Related Names Poole, Jeannie.
Grigsby, Beverly, 1928-
California State University, Northridge.
OCLC number 64668801